Arab States
South East Asia
Southern Asia

Who we are

The ABRSM family is made up of 170 staff members at our London head office, over 500 representatives around the world, and more than 700 freelance examiners. We have a global dialogue that helps us to move forward with initiatives around the world.

Our Chief Executive and six Executive Directors make up our Executive Board. Together with the principals of four of the Royal Schools of Music, they form ABRSM’s Governing Body, which has overall supervisory responsibility for the organisation. They meet regularly to review progress and plans across all ABRSM activities, with the Executive Directors for Syllabus & Publishing and Finance & Administration in attendance.

ABRSM's Patron and President are Her Majesty The Queen and His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales, respectively.

Executive Board

Mick Elliott

Michael Elliott
Chief Executive

Contact Michael


Lincoln Abbotts

Lincoln Abbotts
Executive Director: Strategic Development

Contact Lincoln

Tim Arnold

Tim Arnold
Executive Director of Global Operations

Contact Tim

Sue Cambridge

Sue Cambridge
Executive Director of Finance and Corporate Services

Contact Sue

John Holmes

John Holmes
Chief Examiner

Contact John

Penny Milsom

Penny Milsom
Executive Director: Products and Services

Contact Penny

Jeremy Phillips

Jeremy Phillips
Executive Director: Commercial

Contact Jeremy

Specialist directors

Robin Barry

Robin Barry
Publishing and Product Development Director

Contact Robin

Philippa Bunting

Philippa Bunting
Learning and Qualifications Director: Products and Services

Contact Philippa

Governing Body

Tony Hales

Tony Hales (Chair)

David Roper

David Roper (Deputy Chair)
A former partner at PwC, David has been a trustee of ABRSM since 2009 and is currently Deputy Chairman of the RNCM. A music graduate, he has maintained an active interest in music, singing in choirs in London, Manchester and Birmingham. More recently, he has joined the Board of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra as Trustee for Finance.

Jonathan Freeman-Attwood

Professor Jonathan Freeman-Attwood
The 14th Principal of the Royal Academy of Music, Jonathan has released 10 albums as a trumpet soloist and produced over 200 albums for international artists and labels. He remains active as a scholar, lecturer, critic and contributor to journals and books, mainly as an established authority on Bach interpretation.


Jeremy Heap
Jeremy Heap is Chief Executive of the Equitas group, and also holds non-executive positions with a Lloyd’s managing agency and a University of London college. He qualified as a chartered accountant following his degree in Chemistry from Oxford University.

Colin Lawson

Professor Colin Lawson CBE
Director of the Royal College of Music, Colin has an international profile as a period clarinettist and has played, toured and recorded with most of Britain's leading period orchestras. He has also published widely, and is co-editor of The Cambridge History of Musical Performance (2012) and The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Historical Performance in Music (2018).

Linda Merrick

Professor Linda Merrick
Principal of the Royal Northern College of Music and Chair of Conservatoires UK, Linda is a professional clarinettist who performs and teaches regularly, presenting masterclasses, lecture recitals and research papers in universities, colleges and conservatoires worldwide.

Douglas Gardner

Douglas Gardner
Douglas is a Member of Council of the Royal College of Music, Chairman of Industrial Realisation plc, and a partner of Adams Row Capital LLP. Formerly, he was Chairman of Nuffield Health, Brixton Estate plc, GPT Halverton Ltd, Industrial Development Partnership 2 and Tarmac Properties Ltd, as well as Director of Investa Real Estate Investment Management Holdings Plc, Invesco Income Property Trust, Hirco plc, Prime plc and City and Provincial Securities Ltd.

Damian Wisniewski

Damian Wisniewski
Finance Director at Derwent London plc since January 2010, Damian is a chartered accountant, holds an engineering degree from Imperial College London, and is a member of the Governing Body of the Royal Academy of Music. He previously held senior finance positions at a number of property companies including Chelsfield plc and Stanhope Properties plc.   

Jeffrey Sharkey

Professor Jeffrey Sharkey
Principal of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland since 2014, Jeffrey was previously Director of Johns Hopkins University’s Peabody Institute, Dean of the Cleveland Institute of Music, Director of Music at the Purcell School in London and Head of Academic Music at Wells Cathedral School. A pianist and composer, he was also a founding member of the Pirasti Piano Trio.

Alan Smith

Alan Smith
Director of Finance and Estates at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and Secretary and Treasurer to the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Trusts, Alan previously worked in a number of commercial and charitable organisations, including a posting with VSO in Sierra Leone. He is also currently an employer-nominated trustee of the ABRSM Pension Scheme.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. By using our website, you are agreeing to our cookie policy and consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

closer Close this message